FSTED Welcomes a New Captain to the Helm


The Florida Seaport Transportation Economic Development Council (FSTED) is a public entity charged by Florida Statute to carry out the state’s economic development mission through implementation of seaport capital improvement projects at the local level. The Council is comprised of port directors from all fifteen Florida seaports, representatives from Florida’s Department of Transportation and Department of Economic Opportunity.
On September 2nd FTSED held their regularly scheduled meeting virtually at which time the Council voted on a new slate of officers. Port Canaveral CEO Capt. John Murray was selected to lead the Council as chair. Amy Miller, Director of Port Pensacola, will be passing the baton after two years at the helm. 
In 2019, Florida’s seaports moved nearly 112 million tons of cargo valued at $86.6 billion. Last year the cruise industry in the sunshine state hosted 18.3 million cruise passengers, which was an 8.7% increase from the year prior. The 2020-2024 Five-Year Seaport Mission Plan, completed annually as a part of the FSTED mission, provides an outline of the economic goals for the coming year. Even in light of the COVID-19 pandemic, Florida ports have capital improvement plans that total more than $3 billion over the next five years.  
“Florida’s seaports are diverse and powerful drivers of economic prosperity in our state. As a gateway of commerce, now more than ever, sustaining our ability to meet today’s business challenges is vital to our competitive future,” stated Capt. Murray. As the chair, he’s looking forward to leading the Council in a collaborative approach to accomplish FSTED’s mission to enhance economic vitality in the state.